BB1039 : A Succession of Scars

Thursday 21st October 2010

Iíve got some new boots; isnít life exciting!

Following our ascent of Scafell Pike I decided to retire my Brashers as the Goretex was gone and, although they were comfortable, they were now leaking.

Having experienced the benefit of lightness of foot when out in the dry in my Inov8 fell running shoes (not that I run, you understand), I thought I should go for a lightweight but waterproof pair of boots. After all, I still have my Scarpas for when the really bad weather strikes and the Raichles for the snow.

Ino8 Roclite 400 GTXs 

So when I read that Inov8 had just introduced a new nubuck leather, Goretex lined boot on the market which is the lightest by quite some distance, it seemed as if they were calling to me.

Today was to be their test outing.  Our ambition for the trip reduced daily as people withdrew or were compromised with time commitments.  In the end we, i.e. Bryan, Stan and I, opted for an early afternoon start and a quick visit to the scars to the west of Kendal.  This was, in fact, was good decision as it was grey and we would see later the Lakeland Hills experiencing a less than clement day.

Serpentine Wood carving

And another!

From Stanís house we went up through Serpentine Woods, with its feature carvings, across the golf course (technically a village green) and out to Cunswick Scar.

Crossing Kendal Golf Course

Autumnal scene from Cunswick Scar

Cunswick Scar cairn

Looking south from Cunswick Scar

We then turned south and headed along the succession of  Cunswick and Scout Scars as far as Burnbarrow Scar.  I had intended to take a Comitibus photo at the Scout Scar Mushroom but it was occupied and the moment passed.

Scout Scar mushroom

As a view point, this was not its best day!

Looking south from the Mushroom

Looking North from the Mushroom

After studying the view from Burnbarrow Scar across the estuary and concluding we could see Blackpool Tower, just, we turned back and headed across Helsington Barrow back to Kendal, passing by Greenside, birthplace of the legendary Postman Pat.

The Kent Estuary

Kendal comes into view across Helsington Barrow

Greenside with ....

..... Postman Pat's birthplace

As for the boots- first impressions are good.  Light and comfortable, giving me the confidence to take them on our next and, hopefully, rather more challenging outing in Scotland: Lochnagar.

 Don, 21st October 2010

ribon01d.gif

STATISTICS:

BB1039

21st October 2010

Distance in miles:

7.6

Height climbed in feet:

1,011  

Wainwrights:

-

Other Features:

Cunswick Scar, Scout Scar,
Burnbarrow Scar

Comitibus:

Bryan, Don, Stan

Click on the map for an enlargement.

If you have Memory Map on your computer, you can follow the route in detail by downloading BB1039

To see which Wainwright top was visited on which BB outing see
Which Wainwright When?

For the latest totals of the mileages and heights see: BB Log.

 

 

E-mail addresses on this web site are protected by

 Spam Trawlers will be further frustrated by
 Spam Blocker: help fight spam e-mail!  

 

 

 

BOOT boys

If you want to join
T
he BOOTboys
Inter-continental
Fan Club
let us know and
you will receive
automatic
notification
of new
BOOTboys reports.

  

Home Page

BB04

BB05

BB06

BB07

BB08

BB09

BB10

Archive

 

2010 Outings

BB1001 :
The Most Perfect
 Winter Day
Thursday 7th January

BB1002 :
Snowcumabulating
 Potter Fell
Thursday 14th January

BB1003 :
A Snowy Equipment Test

Thursday 21st January

BB1004 :
Leave It To The Professionals

Thursday 28th January

BB1005 :
That's A Lyth Record
Sunday 31st January 

BB1006 :
Reasons To Be Cheerful
One, Two, Three
Thursday 11th February

BB1007 :
Can You See Clearly Now?
Thursday 18th February

BB1008 :
In Memory Of
Thomas Williamson
Thursday 25th February

BB1009 :
Almost a Mountaineer!
Wednessday 3rd March

BB1010 :
The Beginning Of The End
Thursday 11th March

BB1011 :
The Free Men on Tuesday
Tuesday 16th March

BB1012 :
We'll Get Them In Singles,
Stanley
Thursday 25th March

BB1013 :
The Fools on the Hill
Thursday 1st April

BB1014 :
The Windmills on the Moor
Wednesday 7th April

BB1015 :
By Lake, Ridge and Wainwright
Sunday 11th April

BB1016 :
The Ten Lake Tour (+5Ws)
Thursday 15th April

BB1017 :
The BessyBOOT
boys
Thursday 22nd April

BB1018 :
The Kentmere Challenge
Saturday 24th April
 

BB1019 :
Winter in Springtime
Thursday 14th May

BB1020 :
Red Screes and Sausages
Thursday 20th May

BB1021 :
The Mile High Club
Thursday 27th May

BB1022 :
What A Difference A Day Makes
Thursday 3rd June

BB1023 :
Something Brutal
 
Thursday 10th June

BB1024 :
Rendezvous on Haycock
Thursday 17th June

BB1025 :
The Men of Gragareth
Thursday 24th June

BB1026 :
The Smardale Round
Thursday 1st July

BB1027 :
Don't Shun The Shunner!
Thursday 8th July

BB1028 :
All Around the Edge
Thursday 29th July

BB1029 :
The Return of Uncle Jamie
Thursday 5th August

BB1030 :
The Examination Results
Thursday 12h August

BB1031 :
Nick by Haggis
Thursday 19th August

BB1032 :
And Then There Were Two
Thursday 26th August

BB1033 :
A Surplus of Sheepfolds
Thursday 2nd September

BB1034 :
A Good One For Tony
Thursday 23rd September

BB1035 :
The Wainwright Triathlon
Tuesday 21st - Thursday 23rd
September

BB1036 :
The Nine Standards
or The Battle Of Birkett Hills
Thursday 30th September

BB1037 :
This Is The Way
The Wainwrights End
Thursday 7th October

BB1038 :
A Return To Sanity?
Thursday 14th October
 

BB1039 :
A Succession of Scars
Thursday 21st October

BB1040 :
Three Old Men Of Lochnagar
Monday 25th - Friday 29th October

BB1041 :
A Whinash Winterscleugh Wander
Wednesday 10th November

 

BSB2010 :
BOOTSKI
boys in Zillertal
Saturday 30th January
to Saturday 6th February

 Click on the photos
for an enlargement
or related large picture.

 

 

Wainwrights

To see which Wainwright top was visited on which
BB outing see
Which Wainwright When?.

To download a log of heights and miles and which Wainwrights have been done by which BOOTboy in the "modern" era, i.e. since the advent of BOOTboys
click on BB Log.

If anyone wants to claim other peaks, please let me know and I will submit them to the adjudication committee!