BB0910 : Up on the Roof

Thursday 26th March 2009

There wasnít going to be a BOOTboys outing this week.  Everybody had cried off for one reason or another and, anyway, the forecast for the morning was pretty awful.   Then about 1:15 p.m. Roger rang me up. Inspired by having been soaked in a freak hailstorm in Kendal just walking across a car park (Natland had stayed dry) he wanted to know were we going out or not?  

So I dashed down some lunch, threw on some walking gear and yes, we were going out.

Clearly not a day for the high fells, we decided to visit Hutton Roof.  

We parked in the pleasant little hamlet of Farleton and initially set off in the opposite direction, across the canal and the motorway, then down a field to rejoin the canal at a location I had never walked before but instantly recognised from the Natland Art Exhibition.

Farleton Knott across the M6

As seen by Don

As seen by Keith Hodsoll

Pretty cows!

On reaching the road we headed off up the bridle path we had used on BB0838, Ladies Invitation Day.

Instead of curving back to Farleton Knott we continued on, past some very pretty cows of assorted curly varieties although the only one I recognised were Belted Galloways.  We crossed the road and onto the path that leads across to Hutton Roof Crags.

The path lies to the north and down a bit from what I presume from the map is a limestone pavement.

The limestone outcrop- click on photo for panorama

At the far end an interesting limestone outcrop is reached and shortly the path drops to provide a sudden and splendid view of the lovely village of Hutton Roof.  

Hutton Roof from the Crags

There is also a precariously balanced large boulder that seems to threaten to roll down to the village if nudged.

Hutton Roof team photo

Precarious boulder threatening Hutton Roof!

We dropped down with the intention of paying a surprise visit on would-be BOOTboy Ian G but discovered (as I should have remembered) that he was away in Ireland.  From here we made our way back along very minor roads and bridle paths- Newbiggin Lane. Ultimately Roger called a halt and produced a flask of coffee that Denise had thoughtfully provided with two cups and a big block of the appropriately named Divine black chocolate.

Thank you, Denise!

Farleton Knott from Newbiggin Lane

There was a big rain cloud approaching so we kitted up for it.

Fortunately the worst of it passed us by as we circled round Farleton Knott and back to Farleton, where there is a huge and splendid barn which must have had some significance at one time.  

It was bright and sunny as we reached the car but another shower was looming.

Hutton Roof Crags was a new territory for me and one to be repeated in the future when a reasonable stroll is required on a long summerís evening.

The large and splendid barn

Don, 26th March 2009

Statistics:

BB0910

Thursday 26th March 2009

Distance:

7.8 miles

Height climbed:

899 feet

Wainwrights:

-

Other Key Features:

Hutton Roof

 

 If you have Memory Map on your computer, you can follow our route in detail by downloading BB0910.

For the latest totals of the mileages, heights and Lakeland Fells Books Wainwrights see: Wainwrights.

If anyone wants to claim other peaks, please let me know and I will submit them to the adjudication committee!

 

E-mail addresses on this web site are protected by

 Spam Trawlers will be further frustrated by
 Spam Blocker: help fight spam e-mail!  

 

 

BOOT boys

This page describes an adventure of BOOTboys, a loose group of friends of mature years who enjoy defying the aging process by getting out into the hills as often as possible!

As most live in South Lakeland, it is no surprise that our focus is on the Lakeland fells and the Yorkshire Dales.

As for the name, BOOTboys, it does not primarily derive from an item of footwear, and certainly not from any skin head associations or other
type of social group,
but is in memory of
Big Josie,
the erstwhile landlady
of the erstwhile Burnmoor Inn at Boot in Eskdale,
who enlivened Saint Patrick's Day 1973
and other odd evenings many years ago!

If you want to contact us, click on

 

 

If you want to join
T
he BOOTboys Inter-continental
Fan Club
let us know and
you will receive
automatic
notification
of new
BOOTboys reports.

 

Home Page

BB04

BB05

BB06

BB07

BB08

BB09

Archive

 

2009 Outings

  • BB0901 : A Gordon Day Out
    Thursday 8th January
  • BB0902 : Thank You,
    Aunty Ethel!
    Wednesday 14th January 
  • BB0903 : A Wicked Hike???
    Wednesday 21st January
  • BB0904 : Take a Mug With You
    Sunday 25th January
  • BB0905 : Down in the Forest
    Thursday 29th January
  • BB0906 : Not How But Where?
    Thursday 5th February
  • BB0907 : Binsey Can Wait
    (but Uncle Monty Can Not)
    Thursday 12th February
  • BB0908 : Badgers on the Line
    Thursday 5th March
  • BB0909 : It's not a W!
    Thursday 12th March
  • BB0910 : Up on the Roof
    Thursday 26th March
  • BB0911 : Not the Blisco Dashers
    Thursday 2nd April
  • BB0912 : John's Comeback
    Monday 6th April
  • BB0913 : Two Churches, a Pulpit and a Cherry Picker
    Thursday, 23rd April
  • BB0914 : Companions of the BOOT
    Thursday 30th April
  • BB0915 : The Gale Force Choice
    Thursday 7th May
  • BB0916 : The Comeback Continues
    Thursday 21st May
  • BB0917 : BOOTboys Encore !
    28th May - 2nd June
  • BB0918 : Hello Dollywagon
    Thursday 11th June
  • BB0919 : Has Anyone Seen Lily?
    Thursday 18th June
  • BB0920 : Ancient Feet on the Greenburn Horseshoe
    Thursday 25th June
  • BB0921 : The Tebay Fell Race Walk
    Thursday 2nd July
  • BB0922 : For England and St George 
    Thursday 9th July
  • BB0923 : The Coniston Outliers
    Friday 31st July
  • BB0924 : Little To Be Said In Favour?
    Thursday 6th August
  • BB0925 : The Third Night of the Rescue 
    Thursday 13th August
  • BB0926 : Long Wet Windy Monty Bothy Fun?
    Thursday 20th August
  • BB0927 : Dear Mrs Scroggins
    Friday 11th September
  • BB0928 : An Ard Day's Hike
    Thursday 17th September
  • BB0929 : A Canter of Convalescents?
    Thursday 24th September
  • BB0930 : BOOTboys International Autumnal Expedition
    Wednesday 23rd to
    Sunday 27th September
  • BB0931 : A Bit of an Adventure
    Thursday 1st October
     
  • BB0932 : Paths of Glory?
    Thursday 8th October
  • BB0933 : When Yorkshire Was Welsh
    Wednesday 14th October
  • BB0934 : Unlocking the Whinlatters
    Thursday 22nd October
  • BB0935 : A Tale of Crinkley Bottoms
    T
    hursday 5th November
  • BB0936 : Aye Up What?
    T
    hursday 12th November
  • BB0937 : Where Eagles Wade
    Tuesday 17th November
  • BB0938 : After the Floods
    Thursday 26th November
  • BB0939 : The Mystery of the Missing Glove
    Thursday 10th December
  • BB0940 : A Too Short Walk
    Thursday 17th December
  • BB0941 : One Hundred and Onesfell
    Tuesday 29th December

 

 

  • BH0901 : Back to the Beginning 
    Thursday 13th August
  • BSKIB09 : BOOTskiboys in Saalbach
    14th - 21st March
  • BB09XX : Los Chicos y las Chicas de la Bota
    11th - 14th May
  • BB09Bav01 : Peaked Too Soon
    1st September

 

 

Click on the photos for an enlargement or related large picture.

 

Wainwrights

To download a log of which Wainwrights have been done by which BOOTboy in the "modern" era, i.e. since the advent of BOOTboys click on Wainwrights

If anyone wants to claim other peaks, please let me know and I will submit them to the adjudication committee!

 

 

 BOOT boys